About Adyen

The only payment solution you'll ever need


Our story

In 2006 a group of payment technology experts saw an opportunity. The payments space, with its legacy systems and patchwork of providers was ripe for innovation. So they set out to build a technology solution capable of meeting the rapidly evolving needs of today’s fast-growing global businesses. 

To mark the new beginning, our founding team called the business Adyen – Surinamese for “Start over again”, and focused on building a frictionless, state-of-the-art infrastructure that connects directly to card schemes and payment methods around the world, enabling businesses to accept payments and grow revenue online and in store in a single system.

After several years building the core technology, the advantages of working with a single partner and solution worldwide began to be recognized. We signed our first big global customer, Groupon, in 2009. By 2013, $14 billion in transaction volume was processed on the Adyen payments platform, reaching $25 billion in 2014 and $50 billion in 2015, with no signs of slowing.

The Adyen way

People are our greatest asset. Our unique company culture attracts individuals who take initiative and ownership and can truly contribute to our fast growth. We believe that people reach the utmost if we give them freedom, opportunities and responsibility to build Adyen. 

Our culture is very informal and direct. We talk straight without being rude. We are extremely customer-centric. We believe in teamwork, and don’t like egos and hierarchy. When taking a decision we take them quickly but always involve others to further improve. We provide each other regular informal feedback and let everyone design their own growth path.

People at Adyen

We're a team of passionate, tech-minded people, with over 50 nationalities spread across offices around the world.

See our vacancies

Our team

Pieter van der Does - Adyen

Pieter van der Does

Co-founder / President & CEO

A leading expert with over 15 years experience in the payments industry, Pieter van der Does, was CCO at Bibit before co-founding Adyen in 2006. Since then Adyen has grown from a startup into a global operation, averaging double-digit annual growth since 2007.

Arnout Schuijff

Co-founder / CTO

Arnout is a leading expert in the architecture of advanced payment technology solutions. After co-founding and also being responsible for creating the technology behind Bibit (the first highly successful international payment service provider, acquired by the Royal Bank of Scotland in 2004), Arnout teamed up with Pieter van der Does again in 2006 to co-found Adyen.


Ingo Uytdehaage - Adyen

Ingo Uytdehaage


Ingo is the CFO of Adyen. He has earned degrees from Maastricht University (MBA in accounting and finance), Aarhus Business School in Denmark (MBA in supply chain management and organizational behavior) and the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam (Post Graduate, CPA).

Roelant Prins - Adyen

Roelant Prins


Roelant is responsible for the commercial activities at Adyen. After starting his career as a consultant, he moved on to the online payments industry in early 2000. Throughout the years, Roelant has held various international management roles in sales and business development for companies providing payment solutions to international ecommerce businesses.

Sam Halse - Adyen

Sam Halse


Sam is responsible for all customers who process on the Adyen platform. After starting his career as a commercial lawyer in New Zealand, he moved to the online payment industry in 2010. Sam has built substantial experience in payments and has worked with many of the leading global e-commerce companies in assisting them with their international payments roll-out and optimisation of payment processes.

Joop Wijn - Adyen

Joop Wijn


Joop has a vast experience in global financial services, helping companies with products in payments, debt and equity solutions, M&A and financial markets. Before joining Adyen Joop served as Managing Board member of ABN AMRO. Before ABN AMRO Joop was a.o. State Secretary for Finance and Minister for Economic Affairs in the Dutch government.

Paul Cook - Adyen

Paul Cook

Managing Director, Global Acquiring

Jean-Marc Thienpont - Adyen

Jean-Marc Thienpont

Managing Director, Point of Sale Solutions

Martine Buis - Adyen

Martine Buis

Director, Human Resources

Mariëtte Swart - Adyen

Mariëtte Swart

General Legal Counsel

Dagmar van Ravenswaay Claasen - Adyen

Dagmar van Ravenswaay Claasen

Director Regulatory Affairs

Kamran Zaki - Adyen

Kamran Zaki

President North America

Jean Mies - Adyen

Jean Christian Mies

SVP Latin America

Warren Hayashi - Adyen

Warren Hayashi

President Asia Pacific

Etienne Gerts - Adyen

Etienne Gerts

Head of Development

Michiel Toneman - Adyen

Michiel Toneman

SVP System Architecture

Supervisory board

Piero Overmars

Supervisory Board Chair

Piero Overmars serves as Chair of the Supervisory Board of Nutreco, and as a member of the Supervisory Boards of AMC Academic Medical Center and Dura Vermeer Groep NV. Previously, he served as Chair of the Supervisory Board of SNS Reaal and as President of the Nyenrode Foundation, following an extensive career at ABN Amro that culminated in a Board Member position. Piero Overmars holds an MBA from Nyenrode Business University.


Delfin Rueda

Audit Committee Chair

Delfin Rueda serves as CFO and member of the Executive Board and Management Board of NN Group. Previously, he was CFO and member of the Management Board of ING Insurance, following an extensive career at Andersen Consulting, UBS, JP Morgan and Atradius.

Delfin Rueda holds a degree in Economic Analysis and Quantitative Economics from the Complutense University of Madrid (Spain). He also holds an MBA from the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania (USA).


Joep van Beurden

Joep van Beurden is CEO and member of the Executive Board of Kendrion. Previously, he served as CEO of CSR Plc. (UK) and NexWave Inc. (France), following a career at Royal Dutch Shell, McKinsey, Philips and Canesta Inc. 

Joep van Beurden holds a degree in Applied Physics from Twente University of Technology (Netherlands).